the big Apple

Lady M&M Liberty
Lady M&M Liberty

I have this checklist of places I want to visit and things I want to do (or own), and one of them is celebrating New Year in Time Square, NYC. It seems that this specific thing is on everyone’s wish list, at least everyone I know.

Time Square Infinity Lights
Time Square Infinity Lights

It was like the biggest and wildest dream came true when I finally got the opportunity to go to the US in December 2014. Well visiting the Big Apple during winter is not really my choice because of the freezing weather, the heavy endless layers of clothes that make you uncomfortable when walking, and you don’t feel like wandering around and exploring places in below zero temperature, at least not me.

It's so NYC!
It’s so NYC!

But in order to experience the famous Ball Drop in Time Square – unfortunately one has to go thru’ the aforementioned stuff. So there I was, freezing, waiting for the ball to drop, lining up since 5 in the afternoon, “playing hide and seek” with the NYPD Officers because apparently you have to purchase a ball drop ticket to be allowed in the Time Square area during the celebration (and I didn’t know let alone have such ticket), and the moment finally came! 

the Blue round light is the famous Ball Drop
the Blue round light is the famous Ball Drop

Another must-do-list while we’re in the Big Apple is to visit the Liberty island. Again, not a good choice of thing to do in winter since you will be required to take of your layers of clothes at the security checking point only to put them on again after the checking. So not practical!

Lady Liberty and I
Lady Liberty and I
View of the City of New York from the Liberty island
View of the City of New York from the Liberty island

What I love was to go to the 86th Fl. of the Empire State Building to get the perfect view of New York City. The sky was very clear when I got there (still very freezing tho’), got myself few good pictures of New York skyline. During winter, I guess we have to  prepare ourselves for the extreme weather changes any time of the day. After only 10 minutes enjoying the clear blue sky, suddenly heavy snow fell and everything turned white until we could not see anything from above. But quite romantic 😀

New York Skyline from the 86th Fl. of Empire State
New York Skyline from the 86th Fl. of Empire State
Happy playing with the snow
Happy playing with the snow

I didn’t get to go to Central Park tho’, didn’t feel like to! But I got to take a short walk on the Brooklyn Bridge, ride the Double Decker bus, visit the M&M World, see the giant Christmas Tree in Rockefeller Center, and other fun stuff too.

I can always go back to NYC during spring or summer to enjoy other things that I’ve missed on my winter visit! Let’s plan, shall we 😀

2 thoughts on “the big Apple

  1. I’ve never been, sadly I only know New York through movies. I loved your selection of photographs here. You’ve got a great eye and the talent to back it up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment