Salzburg, the Sound of Music city

The Sound of Music (Photo: Google.com)
The Sound of Music (Photo: Google.com)

As I recall, aside from the Godfather trilogy (that my Dad introduced as my first ever movie!), the Sound of Music is the movie (that should have been introduced to me waaaaay before the Godfather *grinning*) that I really enjoyed back in my childhood, and I really thank my Mom for introducing it to me!

Watching the Von Trapp’s children singing, dancing, exploring Salzburg was like planted in my memory eternally – just like reading Heidi 😀 And made me imagining that I was in Salzburg, reliving their memories, following their footsteps, having the best time of my life.

Salzach River, Salzburg
Salzach River, Salzburg

And who knew that years later (many years later, hahaha), I was finally in Salzburg! Yes, that Salzburg! Tho’ only for a very short stop! Tho’ I didn’t have the time to visit all the movie’s famous locations! Tho’ I only managed to take picture by the famous horse fountain! Tho’ I could only see Nonnberg Convent from distance, and the many more “tho’s”. But, hey, I was there. That should count 😀

beautiful city of Salzburg
beautiful city of Salzburg

Frankly, to me Salzburg means the Sound of Music, what I was not aware of (or maybe I just didn’t “care”) that it is also well known as the city of Mozart the great composer. So when I saw people gathering in front of the yellow painted storey building, I just realized that it was the great Composer’s museum. Good thing I didn’t miss it, eh!

Mozart, the great Composer's museum
Mozart, the great Composer’s museum
Beautiful cemetery in the heart of Salzburg
Beautiful cemetery in the heart of Salzburg
Salzburg pretzel, a must try!
Salzburg brezen (pretzel), a must try!

Salzburg is a very beautiful city, just like what I imagined during my childhood. With many interesting additional “discoveries” that were missing from my childhood’s imagination 🙂

I was only there for like 4 hours and continued the trip to Salzkammergut, to visit the town of St. Wolfgang, or known to tourists as the Lake area. Another stunning place to visit when you are in Austria. And don’t forget to take the cruise of the lake where they play the soundtrack of the Sound of Music during the ride *feeling loved*

the pier of St. Wolfgang, Austria
the pier of St. Wolfgang, Austria
Salzkammergut, a must-visit destination in Austria!
Salzkammergut, a must-visit destination in Austria!

Next time I go to Salzburg, I have to at least stay overnight to take the Sound of Music tour! Got to feed my childhood’s hunger 😀

Leave a Reply

