Kerinci: beauty is everywhere!

“Slow down and enjoy life. It’s not only the scenery you miss by going too fast – you also miss the sense of where you are going and why”. Eddie Cantor.

Kerinci is the name of the highest active volcano in Sumatra island and also a district in Jambi Province (1 of 10 provinces in Sumatra). The capital of Kerinci District is Sungai Penuh where we have our regional office. About an hour drive from Sungai Penuh is Sungai Lintang, our coffee workshop is located here.

Unlike most people, my trip to Kerinci was not to climb the famous mountain, but to conduct training for our project team and visit our workshop. Sad, eh? Nu-uh, not really. I stayed at pak Subandi’s homestay in Kersik Tuo, Kayu Aro (another fifteen minutes from Sungai Lintang), which is located rite across the entrance to the Kerinci-Seblat National Park, where you start your climbing journey. So for the two days I was there, I always woke up to the amazing view of the majestic mountain!.

img_1786img_1833img_1851img_1847img_1837img_9747img_1866img_1822The view is breathtaking. With the tea plantation, clear blue sky, orange sunset, and Mount Kerinci itself, one will surely enjoy and love the experience. The weather is super nice, not too cold for me, but cold enough for my colleagues who couldn’t be separated from their jackets, socks, gloves, beanies and sarongs 😛

I don’t climb mountains, I can’t even stand the thought of how tiring and exhausting climbing a mountain is, but I love admiring the beauty of any mountains, the shape, the colour, the clouds, the sky. For me, the shape of Mount Kerinci is perfect, it is what every mountain should be. Oh well, it’s just my opinion 😀 

Do share with me if you have been to Kerinci, whether climbing or just enjoying the view like I did *winks*

4 thoughts on “Kerinci: beauty is everywhere!

    1. Hi Dimitrios,
      Thanks for stopping by, really appreciate you reading my blog and leaving a positive comment.
      I will try to allocate time to climb Mount Kerinci if I go around the region again, fingers crossed!
      Hope you enjoyed your experience there, I always wonder what beauty it has up on its peak! One day I will discover it myself 🙂
      Will surely check your blog!
      Great to talk to you here.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

