Papua: the Eastern beauty of Indonesia

the Green land of Papua
the Green land of Papua

As the eastern part of Indonesia, it takes about five hours flight to get to Sentani, Papua, from where I live, Jakarta. So one weekend, I decided to fly to Papua for a weekend getaway – because weekend in Singapore is too mainstream šŸ˜› My sister was working and based in Jayapura and she agreed to become my free-of-chargeĀ tour guide when I was there! šŸ˜€

But for me, twas worth the trip once IĀ landed there. WeĀ will be welcomed by the roads and sidewalks covered in red spots, if you know what I mean (you just have to experience and see them yourself *grinning*). Aside from the red spots, you will be amazed by what Papua offers you!Ā 

Lucky for me that I was there when the Sentani Lake Festival was held. I got to see the dances, arts, handcrafts, paintings, everything about Papua was there!Ā Even all Papuan tribes were there! How amazing is that, eh?!Ā 

Papuan Girls ready to dance
Papuan Girls ready to dance
Papuan music performers
Papuan music performers

After spending half day enjoying and being mesmerized by the Festival, my sister took me to see beautiful nearby places. First stop was the Hill of General MacArthur, from where you can see the view of Jayapura city and the airport take off/landing lane. Next, she drove me to Danau Love or Love Lake, the actual name is Infote, about 90 minutesĀ drive from Sentani.

Infote or Love Lake, Sentani Tengah, Jayapura
Infote or Love Lake, Sentani Tengah, Jayapura

I truly really love this place. The lake is very beautiful and peaceful. The surrounding is very green. The air is fresh and free from pollution. The view is amazingly beautiful. I think I can visit this lake again and again!

View surrounding the Love Lake
View surrounding the Love Lake

If you are an extreme food addict, you must try PapuanĀ famous caterpillar dish: Ulat sagu! the famous food of Kamaro tribe, Papua. I obviously am not a fan of any extreme food, so I passed the opportunity to try the dish, but my sister, yes the daredevil, she tried, ate and finished one portion of this ulat sagu dish! Tho’ I could see from the expression on her face how it tasted, regardless what she and her friend toldĀ me that it tastes really goooood! (they tried to trick me! bad sister, hahaha).

Ulat sagu, one of Papuan famous dish
Ulat sagu, one of Papuan famous dish

A weekend in Papua was wrapped upĀ with what I love the most when traveling: shopping! I bought many Papuan batiks as they have beautiful patternĀ andĀ colors! I also bought some Papuan handmade paintings (made from the tree bark), very beautiful!

Lukisan kulit kayu Papua
Lukisan kulit kayu Papua

A weekend in Papua is indeed isn’t enuf. I will be back for sure to other beautiful destinations in Papua šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

