Fort Lauderdale “the Venice of America”

My visit to Fort Lauderdale was to attend the 6th Qualitative Report Annual Conference at the Nova Southeastern University (NSU).

Im not sure what to do when you are in Fort Lauderdale – or maybe because I was quite occupied with the conference schedule so I didn’t get to do what regular tourists do?

palm trees along Las Olas beach
palm trees along Las Olas beach

I love the beaches tho’. Spending every evening having dinner by the beach while chitchatting with my sister about the conference, trying different flavor of frozen yogurt every day, riding the bus around the city like locals – we got lost actually :P, admiring the canals full of private boats, was fun stuff too.

love the boats and the marina
love the boats and the marina!
the famous Las Olas boulevard
the famous Las Olas boulevard

The conference itself was interesting. As a person responsible for all monitoring, evaluation, learning and reporting in my current job, I do many studies, conduct analysis and write reports both qualitative and quantitative. Always find the qualitative ones more challenging, and that is the reason why the conference was very important for me.

the 6th Qualitative Report Conference, NSU
the 6th Qualitative Report Conference, NSU

I love the venue. NSU has a large campus complex and can be confusing especially if you are only a visitor. Thankfully they have this Shark campus shuttle to help visitors like me to get around the campus and to the venue. What I didn’t get is why do they have many similar masks of the Lady Liberty in different colors stick on the wall – when their mascot is shark?

not sure with the many masks in this campus
not sure with the many masks in this campus

To my opinion, the best way to enjoy our time in Fort Lauderdale is to spend as much time outside, walking, running, sitting by the beach such the famous Las Olas beach or the Fort Lauderdale beach, or maybe experiencing the Everglades (which I didn’t get to do). But since people say that Las Olas is the heart of Fort Lauderdale, and I spent every afternoon there, so I think I’ve made the best time when I was there 😀

enjoying the view and sound of the waves
enjoying the view and sound of the waves
the center of Fort Lauderdale: Las Olas beach!
the center of Fort Lauderdale: Las Olas beach!
Leave a Reply

