thankees UN World Food Programme Indonesia team!

There was time in life when we had to make a decision that we might not want to. This happened to me when I decided to leave the organization that I had dreamed to work for (and I finally did for about 7 months). Twas indeed a short period, but I’ve learned a lot in such short time thanks to my awesome boss, Mr. AndersP! I’ve met new people, made new friends, and expanded professional network 😀

my boss at the UNWFP is undoubtedly the best chef who always served delicious meals whenever inviting us to his place!
my boss at the UNWFP is undoubtedly the best chef who always served delicious meals whenever inviting us to his place!

I joined UNWFP Indonesia on November 5, 2013, doing things that I enjoy the most: Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation related works. Twas challenging responsibilities where I had to learn new acronyms (zillions of them!), familiarize myself with bunches of tools, various analysis: anthropometric, food consumption, coping strategy, minimum acceptable diet, dietary diversity, and many more. Challenging but interesting indeed! One of the things that made me happy to come to the office every day was that I have few close people who always “cheered up” my days in their own ways! They made me smile, laugh, think, busy, frowned, impatient, to sum up: they never failed to make my days, hahaha 🙂

colleagues that i can also call as
colleagues that i can also call as “friends”, rare!
image
Im gunna miss your cooking and Jeanette’s cookies ❤

Seven months full of memories, from re-staffing, my first head of sub-offices meeting, training in Africa, a visit to West Timor, standard project report madness, country portfolio evaluation, baselines, follow-ups, M&E updates development, data management, 2013 review, first aid training, farewell after farewell, endless birthdays, to colleagues/friends stopping around my desk and gossiping almost on daily basis *grinning*

Ghesy and me at the super fun First Aid training
Ghesy and me at the super fun First Aid training

May 31, 2014, time had finally come to say until we meet again. Bittersweet moment. Thing I never like to do in life. But I had to. I’ve made my decision. I’ve made my choice. Not everyone likes it no doubt. Even I’m not sure if I’ve made the right decision. But we have to take risks in life. I’ve taken mine. An opportunity is not supposed to be missed, for they might not come twice, and we might regret not taking it one day.

my tiny yet cozy cubicle where all my works were done!
my tiny yet cozy cubicle where all my works were done!

So, until we meet again friends, colleagues! Thanks for all the support, knowledge, lessons, learning, laughter, emails, works, memories that I will take with me. I wish you all and UNWFP Indonesia the best in its effort to improve nutrition status of our beneficiaries, to help the communities be prepared with disaster/climate change impact, to help the government of our country, and to fight hunger worldwide – make the world hunger free!

my dear UNWFP colleagues and friends I do cherish
my dear UNWFP colleagues and friends I do cherish

To the M&E team: Anders, Tina, Katherine! thank you for bearing it with me all the time, really appreciate your endless great support! And to my friends: Jerry, mba Em, Dita, Ghesy, Nita, thank you for friendship! May our paths cross again, after all it is a small world 😀

 

Leave a Reply

