the Pearl of Africa

I’ve been dreaming of visiting this one continent famous for its wildlife and safari: Africa! Picturing myself in one of the safari tour, experiencing the wildlife, sleeping under the clear sky, playing with baby lion or elephant.. and the dream-list goes on.. 

Dream is only a dream, until when I got a job offered that required me to join the organization earlier because they wanted to send me to a training, guess where? in Africa!! It was like: “really? Africa? seriously? me?!”

Entering the city of Kampala
Entering the city of Kampala

So then there I was, in Africa! Kampala, capital city of Uganda to be exact! Place that is famous as “the Pearl of Africa”.

I was only a week in the country nor did I have the opportunity to visiting the heart of Nile or experiencing a long-dreamed safari (it was very unfortunate indeed). But I stayed at Munyonyo Resort located by the Lake Victoria, so at least I could enjoy the beautiful scenery offered by the famous lake everyday during my stay there.

Speke Munyonyo, a Resort by the lake of Victoria
Speke Munyonyo, a Resort by the lake of Victoria

Uganda is a landlocked country in East Africa, bordered on the east by Kenya (should go here!), on the north by South Sudan, on the west by the Democratic Republic of Congo, on the southwest by Rwanda, and on the south by Tanzania. To get to Kampala, I arrived at Entebbe airport and was picked up by the hotel car that transported me to Kampala for an hour trip.

Kim and me like spending time sitting by the lake after the classes
Kim, a good friend I knew at the training,  and me like spending time sitting by the lake after the classes

Since I stayed quite far from downtown, when I wanted to go there, Charity, my friend (whom I met during my study in Canada), warned me to be very careful with my belongings: bags, purse, cameras, because even when we’re seating in the car – someone outside will reach out and grab our stuff and run away with it! I kept the car windows close most of the time tho’.

me and ma friends exploring Kampala
me and ma friends exploring Kampala guided by Charity (second from left)

Although there is a public transportation in Kampala called bodas-bodas, my friend did not recommend me to ride them, she preferred picking me up and introduced me to her regular taxi driver that is more safe for me as foreigner (thanks dear!).

street stall along the road in Kampala
street stall along the road in Kampala

And in the shopping malls, it’s a common view to see security guy carrying guns everywhere, kinda scary but exciting experience. And apparently, it is not wise to leave your belongings in the car in the parking lot in the malls!

Btw, when I was in Kampala, I managed to go to two different malls (such an achievement, eh?), Oasis Nakumatt and Lugogo Mall, and also went to the Uganda’s souvenirs center and bought some good stuff 😀

beautiful Ugandan souvenirs. Love them!
beautiful Ugandan souvenirs. Love them!

Really love Uganda and really wish to go back there and explore its beauty 😀

Leave a Reply

