City of Niagara, Toronto

I was very grateful for being given the chance of a life-time to study in Canada‘s Capital University: Carleton University, to pursue my international diploma on Development Evaluation.

Apart from studying, I really took the opportunity to explore as many things about Canada that are recommended by people over the internet (as my main source of information on-what-to-do-and-where-to-go-in-Canada :). 

the City of Niagara Falls
the City of Niagara Falls

On top of my list is the world’s famous Niagara Falls located in the City of Niagara, ON. Consist of three waterfalls: the American Falls, the Bridal Veil Falls, and Canadian Falls, the last one is also known as the Horseshoe Falls with the highest flow rate and beauty.

amazingly stunning!
amazingly stunning!

Fun facts about the Canadian Horseshoe Falls:

  • Is about 12,000 years old
  • The height of Canadian Falls 170 ft (52 metres)
  • The estimated Crest line 670 meters wide
  • The depth of the river at the base of the Falls is 56 meters (184 ft)
  • The depth of Niagara River is less than the depth of the Falls
  • The estimated flow rate of Horseshoe Falls is 168,000 cubic metres
  • The volume of water: 600,000 U.S. gallons/2,271,247 liters/second
  • The Canadian side of the Falls was first called as “horseshoe” in 1721
  • Serves as major source of electricity in Ontario

Although I stayed in Ottawa during my study (which was closer to Niagara), I decided to go there from Montreal by the Megabus (which costed me less, otherwise I wouldn’t have done that!). I left Montreal at 9 pm, arrived in Toronto around 3 am, and left at 7 am from Toronto for 2 hours trip to the City of Niagara. Do bear in mind that apparently the Toronto bus station is not open for 24 hours, I (and few other passengers) had to wait until it was open at 5 am so we could enter and sit inside.

I have booked the adventure pass prior to my visit coz’ it saved me money. It includes 2 days free Wego bus ride within the city and some attractions: Journey behind the falls, White water walk, Niagara’s fury, and the famous Maid of the mist/Hornblower Niagara Cruise.

thrilling but super fun adventure on the Maid of the mist!
thrilling but super fun adventure on the Maid of the mist!
up close with the fall
up close with the fall

The view of the Horseshoe Falls from Journey behind the falls is so amazing! I stayed there for quite some times to really embrace the magnificent view that I’ve been dreaming of!

me riding the famous boat to the heart of the falls
me riding the famous boat to the heart of the falls
Niagara river
Niagara river

I spent a day in the City, from one attraction to other, but I mostly spent my time sitting by the falls, thinking how lucky I am to be there, looking at the amazing falls that I’ve imagined in my whole life and wondered if I could ever experience myself.. It was a long-dream finally came true!

They also have the festival of lights in Niagara Falls. During the summer the illumination festival starts everyday (yes, everyday!) after the sun goes down at around 9 pm.  We can see the falls color-changing beautifully, from yellow to green to red to purple, it’s just simply beautiful! During winter however, the illumination show is only available on Fridays and Saturdays.

the summer falls - light festival! it's purple!
the summer falls – light festival! it’s purple!

Having to fly for almost 22 hours plus 5 hours transit covering about 15.700 km, from one part to the other part of the world, and another 22 hours plus 9 hours transit on my journey home.. It was really worth the journey 🙂 

Leave a Reply

